Your independent source for Harvard news since 1898

Your independent source for Harvard news since 1898


Overseer and HAA Director Candidates

May-June 2016

This spring, alumni can vote for five new Harvard Overseers and six new elected directors of the Harvard Alumni Association (HAA).

Ballots, mailed out by April 1, must be received back in Cambridge by noon on May 20 to be counted. Election results will be announced at the HAA’s annual meeting on May 26, on the afternoon of Commencement day. All holders of Harvard degrees, except Corporation members and officers of instruction and government, are entitled to vote for Overseer candidates. The election for HAA directors is open to all Harvard degree-holders.

Candidates for Overseer may also be nominated by petition if they obtain a prescribed number of signatures—201 this year—from eligible degree-holders.


The names below are listed in the order they appear on the ballot.

The HAA’s nominating committee has proposed the following candidates for Overseer (six-year term):

Kent Walker ’83, Palo Alto. Senior vice president and general counsel, Google Inc.

Ketanji Brown Jackson ’92, J.D. ’96, Washington, D.C. Judge, United States District Court.

Helena Buonanno Foulkes ’86, M.B.A. ’92, Providence, Rhode Island. President, CVS/pharmacy; executive vice president, CVS Health.

John J. Moon ’89, Ph.D. ’94, New York City. Managing director, Morgan Stanley.

Alejandro Ramírez Magaña ’94, M.B.A. ’01, Mexico City. CEO, Cinépolis.

Damian Woetzel, M.P.A. ’07, Roxbury, Connecticut. Artistic director, Vail International Dance Festival; director, Aspen Institute Arts Program, DEMO (Kennedy Center), and independent projects.

Karen Falkenstein Green ’78, J.D. ’81, ALI ’15, Boston. Senior partner, Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr, LLP.

Lindsay Chase-Lansdale ’74, Evanston, Illinois. Associate provost for faculty and Frances Willard professor of human development and social policy, Northwestern University.

The following candidates for Overseer were nominated by petition:

Ralph Nader, LL.B ’58, of Washington, D.C. Citizen-activist and author; founder, The Center for Responsive Law and Public Citizen.

Stephen Hsu, of Okemos, Michigan. Professor of theoretical physics and vice president for research and graduate studies.

Ron Unz ’83, of Palo Alto. Software developer and chairman,; publisher, The Unz Review.

Stuart Taylor Jr., J.D. ’77, of Washington, D.C. Author, journalist, lawyer; nonresident senior fellow, Brookings Institute.

Lee C. Cheng ’93, of Santa Ana, California. Chief legal officer, Newegg, Inc.


The HAA nominating committee has proposed the following candidates for Elected Director (three-year term):

David Battat ’91, New York City. President and CEO, Atrion Corporation.

Farai N. Chideya ’90, New York City. Distinguished writer in residence, Arthur L. Carter Journalism Institute, New York University.

Rye Barcott, M.B.A.-M.P.A.’09, Charlotte, North Carolina. Managing partner and co-founder, Double Time Capital.

Susan M. Cheng, M.P.P. ’04, Ed.LD. ’13, Washington, D.C. Senior associate dean for diversity and inclusion, Georgetown University School of Medicine.

Victor Jih, J.D. ’96, Los Angeles. Litigation partner, Irell and Manella LLP.

Eliana Murillo ’10, San Francisco. Head of multicultural marketing, Google Inc.

Trey Grayson ’94, Fort Mitchell, Kentucky. President and CEO, Northern Kentucky Chamber of Commerce.

Janet Nezhad Band ’83, M.B.A. ’89, J.D. ’90, New York City. Development consultant to nonprofit organizations.

Michael C. Payne ’77, M.D. ’81, M.P.H. ’82, Cambridge. Attending physician, department of internal medicine, division of gastroenterology, Cambridge Health Alliance.

You Might Also Like:

You Might Also Like: