Your independent source for Harvard news since 1898 | SUBSCRIBE

Your independent source for Harvard news since 1898

Alumni | Commencement 2010

The Results Are In

July-August 2010

The names of the new members of the Board of Overseers and of the new elected directors of the Harvard Alumni Association (HAA) were announced during the association’s annual meeting on the afternoon of Commencement day. The 31,945 alumni ballots mailed back in the two elections represented a turnout of 13.4 percent.


As Overseers, serving six-year terms, the voters chose:

Cheryl Dorsey ’85, M.D. ’91, M.P.P. ’92, New York City. President, Echoing Green.

Walter Isaacson ’74, Washington, D.C. CEO, The Aspen Institute.

Diana Nelson ’84, San Francisco. Director, Carlson Companies, Inc.

Karen Nelson Moore ’70, J.D. ’73, Cleveland. U.S. Circuit judge, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit. 

Nicholas Kristof ’82, New York City. Columnist, the New York Times.


Candidates selected as elected directors of the HAA, serving three-year terms, were:

Irene Wu ’91, Washington, D.C. Director of international research, U.S. Federal Communications Commission; adjunct professor, Georgetown University.

Roger Fairfax Jr. ’94, J.D. ’98, Washington, D.C. Law professor, George Washington University Law School.

Lindsay Hyde ’04, Boston. Founder and president, Strong Women, Strong Girls.

Reynaldo Valencia, J.D. ’90, San Antonio. Associate dean for administration and finance; professor of corporate and securities law, St. Mary’s University School of Law.

M. Margaret Kemeny ’68, New York City. Professor of surgery, Mt. Sinai School of Medicine, chief of surgical oncology, and director of the Queens Cancer Center.

Victoria Wells Wulsin ’75, M.P.H. ’82, D.P.H. ’85, Cincinnati. Physician, Mid-City Pediatrics.

You Might Also Like: