## PROGRAM

CALL TO ORDER & WELCOME

Ann Blair President of the Chapter

INVOCATION Peter J. Gomes Chaplain, Honorary President of the Chapter

WELCOME

Ann Blair

**TEACHING PRIZES** 

Howard Georgi

Lawrence Buell (Dept of English) Benjamin Friedman (Dept of Economics) Richard Tarrant (Dept of the Classics)

#### HONORARY MEMBERS Ever

Everett Mendelsohn

Professor William Alexander, Class of 1960 Elaine Ford, Class of 1960 Professor John Harbison, Class of 1960 Suzanne Hodes, Class of 1960 Professor Christopher Jones Paul G Kirk, Jr, J.D., Class of 1960 Professor Sanford Ungar Professor George Whitesides, Class of 1960 D.A. Powell, *poet* 

ANTHEM Abendlied Josef Rheinberger (1839–1901) from Drei geistliche Gesänge, Op. 69, No. 3; andante molto

#### Harvard-Radcliffe Collegium Musicum

POEM 'Chronic'	D.A. Powell
ANTHEM Each Future Song (2001) for the Harvard-Radcliffe Co	
Calm and serene thy moments glide along, And may the muse inspire each future song!	
Still, with sweets of contemplation blessed, May peace with balmy wings your soul invest! Phillis Wheatley (1753–1784) The Harvard-Radcliffe Collegium Musicum is conducted by Jameson Marvin, Director of Choral Activities	
ORATION 'The Possibilities of Friendship' Natalie Zemon Davis	
ENVOI	Ann Blair
COLLEGE HYMN Fair Harvard! We join in thy jubilee	throng,

And with blessings surrender thee o'er,
By these festival rites, from the age that is past To the age that is waiting before.
O relic and type of our ancestors' worth, That has long kept their memory warm,
First flower of their wilderness! Star of their night! Calm rising through change and through storm.
Farewell! be thy destinies onward and bright! To thy children the lesson still give,
With freedom to think, and with patience to bear, And for Right ever bravely to live. Let not moss-covered Error moor thee at its side, As the world on Truth's current glides by, Be the herald of Light, and the bearer of Love, Till the stock of the Puritans die.

Samuel Gilman A.B.1811

#### BENEDICTION

Peter J. Gomes

### CHAPTER OFFICERS

Honorary President	Peter J. Gomes
President	Ann Blair
Vice-president	Logan McCarty
Secretary	Rachel Howarth
Treasurer	Leslie Slavin
Chief Marshal	James Wilkinson

UNDERGRADUATE MARSHALS Class of 2010

> Stephanie Hoi-yee Lo Mary Anne Marks Anthony Caswell Speare John Cong Zhou

# PHI BETA KAPPA

Alpha Iota of Massachusetts at Harvard College



two hundred and twentieth LITERARY EXERCISES

> Sanders Theatre May 25, 2010 11 o'clock