Your independent source for Harvard news since 1898


Two Harvardians Named Marshall Scholars


The 2013 class of Marshall Scholars includes Aditya Balasubramanian ’12 (’13), of Leverett House and Bethesda, Maryland, and Alex Palmer ’12, a former Quincy House resident, of Elm Grove, Illinois. Balasubramanian, a history concentrator, plans to study at the London School of Economics and Political Science. Palmer, who concentrated in social studies, will attend King's College London. The scholarships support two years of study toward a degree in the United Kingdom, but may be extended by the Marshall Commission for a third year.

With two scholars each, Harvard and the U.S. Naval Academy led a wide geographical range of institutions celebrating this year’s 34 winners. The other Ivy League winners hailed from Brown, Columbia, and Princeton.

You Might Also Like:

Desmond Green ’17, Peryn Reeves-Darby ’18, Lethu Ntshinga ’18 (obscured), Genesis De Los Santos ’19, Angelica Chima ’19, Caleb Lewis ’17, and Jonathan Sands ’17 in rehearsal for Black Magic, a student-written and -directed show on the Loeb mainstage

Photograph by Stu Rosner

The Undergraduate looks at 1969 and Reclaim HLS

Illustration by Miguel Davilla

An Indiana kid at Harvard