Your independent source for Harvard news since 1898

Your independent source for Harvard news since 1898


New Overseers and Elected Directors Announced


The names of the new members of the Board of Overseers and elected directors of the Harvard Alumni Association (HAA) were announced during the HAA’s annual meeting on the afternoon of Commencement day. Harvard degree-holders cast 27,638 ballots in the election.

As Overseers, voters chose:


Scott A. Abell ’72, Boston, Massachusetts. Retired chair and CEO, Abell & Associates, Inc.

James E. Johnson ’83, J.D. ’86, Montclair, New Jersey. Partner, Debevoise & Plimpton LLP

Tracy P. Palandjian ’93, M.B.A. ’97, Belmont, Massachusetts. CEO and Cofounder, Social Finance, Inc.

Swati A. Piramal, M.P.H. ’70, Mumbai, India. Director, Piramal Healthcare Limited.

Kathryn A. Taylor ’80, San Francisco. Cochair, One PacificCoast Bank Board of Directors.

Note: Five of the new Overseers were elected for six-year terms. The sixth-place finisher, Michael M. Lynton, will complete the two years remaining in the unexpired term of Paul J. Finnegan ’75, M.B.A. ’82 who stepped down from the Board of Overseers due to his recent election to the Harvard Corporation. 


Candidates selected as elected directors of the HAA, serving three-year terms, were:


John F. Bowman ’80, M.B.A. ’85, Santa Monica. Executive producer, Disney Company.

Yvonne E. Campos, J.D. ’88, San Diego, California. Superior Court Judge, State of California.

John H. Jackson, Ed.M. ’98, Ed.D. ’01, Cambridge. President and CEO, The Schott Foundation for Public Education.

Michael T. Kerr ’81, M.B.A. ’85, Canyon Country, California. Portfolio counselor and senior vice president, Capital Research Company.

E. Scott Mead ’77, London. Fine art photographer and financial advisor.

Brian Melendez ’86, J.D. ’90, MTS ’91, Minneapolis. Partner, Faegre Baker Daniels LLP.



You Might Also Like: