Your independent source for Harvard news since 1898 |
Photograph by Stu Rosner
The 2010 honorands are (from left) Stephen Fischer-Galati, Eric Maskin, Martha Nussbaum, and David Bevington.

The Graduate School of Arts and Sciences Centennial Medal, first awarded in 1989 on the occasion of the school’s hundredth anniversary, honors alumni who have made contributions to society that emerged from their graduate study at Harvard. This year’s honorands are (from left): Stephen Fischer-Galati ’46, Ph.D. ’49, a specialist in East European history and civilization and a professor emeritus at the University of Colorado; economist and 2007 Nobel laureate Eric Maskin ’72, Ph.D. ’76, of the Institute for Advanced Study; classical philologist Martha Nussbaum, Ph.D. ’75, professor of law and ethics at the University of Chicago (see “Education for the Soul,” page 16); and Shakespeare scholar David Bevington ’52, Ph.D. ’59, a professor emeritus at the University of Chicago. For more about the medalists, visit