Your independent source for Harvard news since 1898 |

UPDATE: As of February 24, both teams still stood undefeated, the Canadian team having won preliminary matches against Slovakia, Switzerland, and Sweden; the U.S. team against China, Russia, and Finland. In the playoff round, the Americans defeated Sweden 9-1, and the Canadians bested Finland 5-0. The teams were scheduled to face off for the gold medal in a February 25 game.

Read more about Crimson Olympian Angela Ruggiero in our “Harvard Headlines” post from February 16.

No fewer than five Harvard alumnae will skate for the women’s ice hockey teams of the United States and Canada at the 2010 Winter Olympic Games in Vancouver, Canada, which run from February 12 through February 28. The U.S. squad includes alternate captain Angela Ruggiero ’02,  Julie Chu ’06, and Caitlin Cahow ’07. These women will face off against China on February 14. The Canadian ice hockey team includes former Crimson standouts Jennifer Botterill ’02 and Sarah Vaillancourt ’08.  If history is any guide, there’s a fair chance that all five Harvardians will find themselves on the ice in the women’s gold medal game on February 25.